A glimpse into the daily happenings in the Funky Karma Magick Shop

Here I am under the catnip bush in my garden.. I grow this delicious nip for all the cats whose pawrents don't grow it for them. You can come into the shop and purchase this fine treat for your cat.

October 29, 2011

National Cat Day

Today is National Cat Day! “What greater gift than the love of a cat?” Charles Dickens once mused. Cats are one of the most beloved human companions of all time. They were first domesticated in the Middle East’s Fertile Crescent as early as 12,000 years ago. When humans relied on hunting as their main source of food, dogs were most useful, but when the first agricultural societies emerged, cats became invaluable. Domesticated cats became responsible for keeping grain stores free of mice and other rodents. Today, cats can be found in 34% of American households, making them the most popular house pet in the United States.

Pet lifestyle expert and animal welfare advocate Colleen Paige established National Cat Day in 2005. The day serves as a reminder to the public about the number of cats that need to be rescued. Approximately 4 million cats enter animal shelters each year and 1-2 million of them are euthanized.

In honor of National Cat Day, celebrate cats and the unconditional love and companionship they give to their owners. If you don’t own a cat, volunteer at your local animal shelter or make a donation. It’s the purrrrfect way to show you care!

Comments on: "Today is National Cat Day…" (2)

  1. Thanks for writin’ to me. I understand why you can’t come to see me, many cats don’t like to ride in the car. They must think they are going to the V.E.T. I have learned to love goin’ in the car, it means I am goin’ to work! I LOVE the store and all the (my) customers, and I HATE to stay home alone, hidin’ in my home alone place is so scary.
    My Mom says to tell your Mom “Hi, see ya soon’
    Have a purry nice day,
    your friend Pluma

  2. Diane Flores said:

    Dear Pluma,

    Thank you for all your emails, we are enjoying them so very much. We would like to come to play with you for a while but Mom doesn’t like to take us in her truck because we always caterwaul all the way down there and back!!

    I have lived with Mom and Dad for 8 months now and you should see how much I’ve grown. I’m so black & sleek with a nice curvy tummy & hinnie. Even Simmy thinks I’m the CAT’S Meow!!!

    Your friends,
    Dulcie & Simmy Flores

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

